The Ultimate Book Tag

booktag

I was tagged by Summer xingsings in her post for the Ultimate Book Tag 🙂

Here are the questions:

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

I don’t read in the car, but I sometimes read whilst on the train.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Hmm. Good question. I feel like I haven’t read enough books to specify which author’s writing has really stood out. I feel obliged to mention some of the best writers in history: William Shakesphere, Charles Dickens, Emily Bronte and Jane Austen, but to be honest, I don’t read of their books much. For now I’ll just say Lauren Oliver and Laini Taylor. They both have beautiful style of writing but it just took a long time to get to the point in the story, so it is a shame that I didn’t enjoy Delirium and Daughter of Smoke & Bone.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter, of course.

  1. You learn magic instead of traditional school subjects. How cool is that?!
  2. Hermione is BOSS.
  3. Hogwarts.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

5060312810204

I don’t have a book bag but I have this urge to get those Penguin book bags because it looks like the official books are my bag! (I really want a purple one). I always carry a canvas tote. 5 things I must to have with me is my phone, purse, keys, oyster card and headphones.

5. Do you smell your books?

Unintentionally.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.

I say without illustrations, but they are nice elements to a book in graphic/comic novels.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Obvious answer: TWILIGHT! The funny thing was I actually thought it was good at the time. Two years later, I ask myself ‘what was I thinking?’ I can’t mock Twilight too much because it’s the only reason why I even started reading again and since then I have discovered a lot of great books, so I can’t complain.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Unfortunately I don’t have any funny stories involving books. None that I can think of!

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Either Breaking Dawn or Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Reviewing books is the only form of writing I currently do. I attempted to write a story about roughly 4 years ago after I got some encouragement from a friend, but since I had university obligations, I couldn’t write anymore. I’d like to finish what I started but I don’t see that happening anytime soon, as I don’t have time for it. No I don’t see myself as an author. I’m not educated in creative writing, so I don’t know the rules of writing apart from ‘show and don’t tell.’ I just like to write for fun, I find it therapeutic 🙂

12. When did you get into reading?

When I was about 11-13 I read a lot of the Mary-Kate and Ashley series books (Two of a Kind, So Little Time and Sweet Sixteen). I absolutely loved Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen and I had a huge collection of their books and videos. I stopped reading when I was 14 or 15 (no idea why, probably because of peer pressure). Then I got back into reading in 2009 because my friend told me about *coughs* Twilight.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee and the Anne Frank biography.

14. In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

When I was at school, I enjoyed Art, Design Technology (Textiles and Product Design), English and Spanish.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

It’s the thought that counts, so I’d thanked them and keep it because I’d feel bad if I gave it away.

16. (Apparently Question 16 was supposed to be here, but now it’s disappeared?)

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I think having a few drafts that I have not posted yet because I don’t post everything at once or not being satisfied with my theme.

18. What is your favorite word?

There are so many great words to choose from but the only words that come to mind is serendipity and wanderlust.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I am neither. I’d like to say I am a nerd but the nerdiest thing about me is that I love astronomy and that’s about it. Sad that I missed the Solar Eclipse! Planets and the universe are so fascinating.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I don’t like vampires and with fairies, they always seem to be evil in books. The only fairy I like is Tinkerbell.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters are cool. I like shadowhunter angels from the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices, if that counts?

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits because they’re interesting. I’m not fond of werewolves, to be honest.

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Neither.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Love triangles and forbidden love plotlines are constantly recycled over and over again. I liked it at first but it got boring. Not my cup of tea.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action-packed with some love scenes. I don’t mind a full on romance, if there’s very good character development and if the writing is good.


I tag whoever reads this. Thanks for reading ^_^

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. That penguin tote is so cute! 🙂 The only Lauren Oliver book I’ve read is Before I Fall, and I thought it was pretty unique. I haven’t read Daughter of Smoke and Bone yet, but I plan to. I really enjoyed reading your answers, thanks for answering! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Before I Fall has been a book I wanted to read a while ago but never got round to it. The writing in Delirium is unique too but I wasn’t too invested in the story. A lot of readers seem to really like Daughter of Smoke & Bone! I feel like I might be missing out on something good because I didn’t enjoy the first book. Maybe I need to give it more of a chance! (Just like Bloodlines lol). That’s okay, it was fun to answer, thanks for tagging me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know a lot of readers that go by the “if I don’t like it the first time, I won’t bother to try it a second time” rule. I’m definitely not one of those, plus I reread a lot (and it never feels like a waste of time for me, for both rereading or reevaluating books I thought were originally meh the first time). Even though I liked The Indigo Spell a lot, I don’t think it’s up to par with VA. So I’m not sure how you’ll feel, but definitely keep reading the series (I guess if it gets worse, we can complain together? haha). 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh that’s good you reread a lot. I’ve only reread some books once. I know that I have to read the Harry Potter series again! (Read in 2013). I know when you read for the second time, you can fully appreciate the story 🙂 I hated Wuthering Heights but I honestly can’t bear to read it again lol. I read the VA series a while ago and really liked it. Okay if you say so I’ll consider giving it another go. Haha yeah we can complain together if it’s bad! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

