Book Review: Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

dangerousboysEdition: E-Book
Published: August 14th 2014 by Simon and Schuster UK
Genre: Romance, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult
Rating: 4 feathers

Three teens venture into the abandoned Monroe estate one night; hours later, only two emerge from the burning wreckage. Chloe drags one Reznick brother to safety, unconscious and bleeding; the other is left to burn, dead in the fire. But which brother survives? And is his death a tragic accident? Desperate self-defense? Or murder? Chloe is the only one with the answers. As the fire rages, and police and parents demand the truth, she struggles to piece together the story of how they got there-a story of jealousy, twisted passion, and the darkness that lurks behind even the most beautiful of faces…


I don’t know how Abigail Hass did it but she’s done it again! I was very excited about this book when I heard about it because I loved Dangerous Girls. Dangerous Boys is slightly similar to Dangerous Girls but different story with a girl and two boys this time, and is written in the style of the past and present tense. The main character is Chloe, who just wants to get out of Haverford and start college, but finds herself left behind to take care of her mother who is depressed. She starts dating Ethan who is kind and caring, but that’s until she meets Ethan’s brother, Oliver who comes home from college. These two brothers share a jealousy rivalry.

The thing about this book and psychology thrillers overall is that none of these characters are likeable, which is not surprising. It seems to be a constant trend in this genre. I did find Chloe relatable because she did make a sacrifice to put her life on hold for the sake of her mother. Not everyone would have made the same choice. It wasn’t fair on her but she did what she had to do because family is important. Ethan is decent but a tad bit unbearable because he said some of the most annoying and clichéd lines, such as “What did I do to deserve you?” Oh please. Eye roll. This made Chloe feel trapped. Initially I assumed Oliver was just your typical arrogant male character but the more I read on, there is just something so interesting about him. Tell you what there is more to him than meets the eye. There is a love triangle and usually I don’t like love triangles but this one didn’t bother me as much.

“And so it goes, day after day. Every sharp word and every angry, impure thought. You press them down, pretending they’re not a part of who you really are – the sweet, good girl, the smiling, happy person but the truth is, that anger is more real than anything. It burns and blooms and blossoms, twisting tighter with every faked smile until you wonder, what would it be like to just let it free? Stop pretending. Stop hiding. Stop being the girl they all said you should be. Imagine that freedom. God, can’t you feel it? What harm could it do?”

This is a disturbing book. I’m not sure whether it’s more disturbing than Dangerous Girls or on the same page but it is equally messed up. I already had a feeling which brother survived the fire. The ending was WTF. I couldn’t believe it but at the same time, I felt like I had it coming. There was so much suspense and mystery, which I absolutely loved about it. Chloe tells us what happened between the past and the present; we know something bad happened, but we don’t know what. It is revealed bit by bit until the whole truth is revealed at the end.

Once I read the truth about one of the Reznick brothers, I was gobsmacked. I just never saw it coming because it was very dark and twisted. It made me question the character’s choices and morals; clearly it is very fucked up. It was so so good! I had this in 3 days and I could not put it down. After I finished it, I could not stop thinking about it. Before reading a psychological thriller, I always say to myself that I’m not going to be fooled and that I am going to work it out but as usual, I end up being so surprised. Psychological thrillers are definitely becoming my favourite genre to read. I look forward to reading more of Abigail Hass upcoming books. If you liked Dangerous Girls or Gone Girl, then you’re definitely going to love this but if you haven’t you should still JUST READ IT.

4

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

  1. Aww, great review!! hehe, you know how much I love those WTF plot twists! glad to read that psycho thrillers are abut to become your favorite genre; so there surely will be many books that we can discuss about! Dangerous Boys is now on my TBR list – thanks for the tip! But The Girl on the Train comes first 🙂 Only one week left, and I finally have holidays; I finally have time to read! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

