Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

2118745Edition: E-Book, 496 pages
Published by: Candlewick Press
Genre: Adventure, Action, Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult
Rating: 3 stars

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?


Side note: I am so behind on writing reviews (three to be exact!) :O I better get cracking! Been super busy lately.

This review may contain spoilers.

I’ve had The Knife of Never Letting Go on my list for a very long time. I am currently going through my TBR list, seeing which books I added are worth reading and which books are not. I thought it was about time I read a book from Patrick Ness. I have heard nothing but great things from the Walking Chaos trilogy.

The first thing anyone notices about this book is the writing style. In published books, we always see perfect writing (almost) with a good range of vocabulary and sentences that make sense. Todd Hewitt is the main character and he talks and acts very much like an adolescent. No one is telling him anything; all he’s told is to run. Therefore he’s confused and angry. He sounds illiterate because he was prevented an education, but above all, he is a very realistic character. The simplistic writing gave me the sense that I am reading the point of view of a twelve-year-old boy.

Todd encounters Viola during his journey, whom he mistaken for a Spackle (alien-like creatures). He sees Viola sort of sitting at a tree with her head down. In Prentisstown, there are only men, no women. Todd has been told that all the women presumably died by the Spackles in the war. So Violet is the first girl Todd meets and he is surprised that he cannot hear her Noise at all. She is in a state of shock after what happened to her parents and thus does not speak to Todd. He assumes that she has no emotion.

The majority of the plot was about Todd and Violet on the run from Major Prentiss and his son, Davy Prentiss Jr. This book was very action-packed! There was so much happening; the world building was very interesting, I like I idea how the New World and the Noise concept. I admired the encouragement and strength that Todd and Violet had to continue to move forward. It’s so easy to give up. As I’m getting into the story, sometimes you forget that Todd and Violet are so so young; they are only twelve years old. They’re tired and hungry whilst travelling miles and miles. I often wondered how long they were able to keep this up. Poor Manchee 😦 that scene was heart-breaking.

Some of the pages that contain scribbled writing of people ‘Noise’ were a great element to the book because it depicts Todd hearing so many people’s thoughts at once. Can you imagine that? Everyone hearing what you’re thinking; there’d be no room for privacy but it creates a big noise.

Even though I only rated it 3 stars, I did like the book but it sort of dragged on a bit because the characters were constantly running. Plus it did take me a long time to finish it, as it is almost 500 pages. To me, it wasn’t amazing but it was a good book overall. Since this is a trilogy, the ending left me a cliff-hanger! Patrick Ness is giving me a reason to pick up the second book, The Ask and the Answer. Some of a Dystopian books I read in the past, I did not continue with the series. The only one that managed to pique my interest was the Unwind Dystology, so I hope that the Chaos Walking trilogy will be a good series, as I will continue to read the next two books.

3

Leave a Reply

