A Year In Books | Top 10 Books of 2015

I actually did it – read 50 books in a year! It was one hell of a challenge. As someone who is busy with life and work in general, I got more than I bargained for. At the beginning of the year, I had a slow start before I attempted to catch up in April and towards the end of the year, it was again, slow, as I didn’t read anything in November, which I regret! I read graphic novels and short stories to catch up.  Since I was disappointed that I only read 29 books in 2014 and not many that I really have loved, this year I set out a task, or mission if you will, to discover amazing books this year. I did discover some gems and here are some of my new favourites that I think I worth reading ^_^

This is in the order that I read them:

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)

Gone Girl Review

This one is a bit of an obvious choice as everyone has already read it. Either you love it or you hated it. I loved it. It was recommended by a friend of mine. I do see why others hated it though. I really liked the mystery aspect of the story, it was very compelling and addictive but that’s what I like – not being able to down the book! I disliked the characters, especially Amy but it was the plot twist that blew my mind. It was so f***ed up.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

since-youve-been-gone

Since You’ve Been Gone Review

This was such a fantastic Young Adult coming of age novel. I was expecting this to be just a cute contemporary with a bit of romance thrown there, so I didn’t expect to love as much as I did. There was no instalove, hallelujah! Not much in the romance department but what they did have was strong character development. I felt like that development was shown to me very well in the story. Matson did a really great job of writing an experience of Emily’s journey.

The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

18143905

The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories Review

I read this because of Emma Watson. I wasn’t a massive fan of Keegan’s short stories, however they were amazingly written and there was such great attention to detail. The Opposite of Loneliness essay was the best one that is worth reading. It was so inspirational and relatable.

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

91lUeBR2G1L

The Girl On The Train Review

Hailed as the next Gone Girl, The Girl On The Train was the one to read in 2015. About a woman called Rachel travels on the train every morning and spies on a couple at the balcony, who she believes is perfect and names them Jess and Jason. I was very into the story, even though Rachel was a very unreliable character and frustrated me quite a lot with her alcoholic problems. With the plot twist, I figured it out just before it was revealed! Great ending overall.

Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

dangerousboys

Dangerous Boys Review

As I loved Dangerous Girls, naturally I had to read Dangerous Boys as well. This book was pretty f***ed up! It was so twisted and very well crafted. The characters were so sly. It took me by surprise and made me feel slightly creep out but in a good way. Best to read this without knowing anything.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all-the-bright-places-jkt

All The Bright Places Review

I think this is actually my favourite of the year. Another either love or hate it book. I loved it. I know that many would argue that it romanticising mental health, but I don’t know, as it could be argued either way, I just thought it was a good way to give an eye opener to readers who aren’t aware of the problems that Finch was dealing with. The story was so heartbreaking that it made me brawl my eyes out so much! I didn’t know it would have been such a sad story.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

A Monster Calls Review

My second Patrick Ness book and my favourite so far! It was wonderful and sad. It’s about a troubled boy called Connor whose mum has cancer. At exactly 12:07am he gets a visit from a monster who tells Connor three short stories. In exchange Connor must tell the monster his own story. The illustrations were my highlights of the book; they are beautiful.

Night Owls by Jenn Bennet

25327818

Night Owls Review

I literally gushed over this cover! I mean just look at it. Judging a book by its cover at its finest! It’s about a teenaged girl called Bex who meets a mysterious boy called Jack on the owl night bus, but later realises he could possible be San Francisco’s most wanted graffiti artist. She is curious to find out more about him. The story itself is more about family and mental health. Bex and Jack were so adorable; their banter made me laugh and was one of my favourite bits about the book!

Matilda by Roald Dahl

39988

I embarrass myself as a book blogger for not reading any Dahl books until now! As I have seen Matilda lots of times when I was younger, I’m being bias by saying Matilda is my favourite Roald Dahl book! The story itself is wonderful and fun to read. Matilda is so smart and wise. Miss Trunchbull was absolutely insane! What is the point of being a teacher if you hate children? Miss Honey’s story was more sad and in-depth than the film. Adorable illustrations as well.

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

27879068

This is my last book of 2015 and also the last one I rate 5 stars because I have no words to express how amazed I am by Malala’s story! Embarrassingly I don’t watch the BBC news anymore, shame on me lol. So the first time I heard about Malala Yousafzai was on Teens React by the Fine Bros on YouTube! From that video all I knew was that it was about a girl who got shot by the Taliban for speaking out for girls’ right to an education. She survived the shot and since then has continued her campaign and won many prestigious prizes including the Noble Peace Prize. But having finally read the book, it gave me an eye-opener into what was happening in Malala’s life in Pakistan and the actions she took for her campaign, along with the influence from her dad and the encouragement from her mum. I felt very inspired. Glad to picked this up on a whim!

What were some of your favourites in 2015?

17 thoughts on “A Year In Books | Top 10 Books of 2015

  1. I’m a little hesitant with trying All the Bright Places and The Opposite of Loneliness because a lot of my Goodreads friends have such a spectrum of ratings. XD But thanks for sharing this list. Of the titles you mentioned, I’m definitely picking up I am Malala. And I’m so happy to see Night Owls on here. Happy new year, Thuong! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw it’s up to you 😉 Try All The Bright Places if you want. It’s not a perfect book as there were flaws in it, thats why I plan it give it a reread! I feel like this new year will be a lot of rereads for me XD With the Opposite of Loneliness, I’d say to go your local library or bookshop and just read the essay because its the best one 🙂 thanks for reading my list! Yay I hope you’ll like Malala, remember to pick up the full version – I read the teen version lol oh well.
      Thanks, Summer! Happy New Year to you too! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t realize there was a teen/full version! Thanks for letting me know, haha. And I will pick up All the Bright Places just because I don’t read enough books that introduce mental illnesses as I’d like. And thanks, Thuong! ^.^

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, now you know! Once I got home, I thought oh no picked the teen version, damn XD Yay can’t wait to hear what you think of All The Bright Places! Your welcome 🙂 x

        Like

Leave a Reply

