Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431Edition: Paperback, 320 pages
Published By: Corgi Childrens, 3rd September 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 2 stars
Completed: 8th October 2015

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.

Everything, Everything is a book that has been hyped for months before its September release. Everyone had read an arc of it and everyone has been praising on how amazing it was, so naturally I had this expectation that it will be good somewhat. So imagine my disappointment when I did not like it. I was quite underwhelmed to be honest.

Everything, Everything is about a teenaged girl called Madeline Whittier who has SCID (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency). Natural air suffocates her and she is allergic to everything outside and has not been outside in the last seventeen years. The only people she sees is her mother, who is a doctor and her nurse Carla. But then she sees a new family moving next door, in particular an attractive boy next door called Ollie and starts to view things in her life differently. What she wants more than anything is to be alive and experience everything.

DSC03309

DSC03310

“Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.”

It was interesting to learn about Maeline’s SCID, her past and how she dealt with it. For the first 160 pages or so, it started off really well. I was enjoying it. I found Madeline a relatable character. She’s had to live with her SCID her whole life, so rather than be an angsty teenager about it, she is more mature and accepts that’s how it is, and I like that. She reads a lot of books and writes book reviews on tumblr, like us! Also yay for diversity! Madeline is half Japanese and half African-American. That is pretty cool and unique. It seems like Yoon was inspired by her own family for this book.

This is a very well designed book. It’s very artistic. I love the cover, its beautiful. There was a lot of attention to detail with the interior illustrations, which were created by Yoon’s husband. It added such an endearing and quirky element. Madeline’s diary entries seemed like it was drawn by Yoon’s daughter and it looked so sweet! I think my favourite illustrations were the astronaut in the diner and Madeline as an astronaut looking at the Earth. All the graphs, the spoiler alerts and the dictionary was very cute. Ollie is adorable. The interaction in the emails and IM chats were my favourite bits about the book – mann, I just can’t… I was literally gushing of all this cuteness in one book!

Okay so because of my rating, unfortunately I have to get into talking about the negative parts of the book.

I really really have a big problem with instalove. I really cannot stand it. It is my biggest pet peeve in a book. Sometimes I just don’t understand it. Why would you write about an underdeveloped love story? I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. I need to write a discussion post about it at some point soon. The romance between Madeline and Ollie felt a bit forced somewhat and rushed. I found a very hard time believing in their romance. The chemistry just wasn’t there for me. It needs more development. “I loved you before I knew you” I rolled my eyes at that line. Ollie was a bit one-dimensional. I felt like I didn’t know him at all. This entire book needs more development.

Ever since readers have said there is a plot twist, I had already worked out this plot twist from the beginning. The signs were all there whilst reading and it was so blatantly obvious (to me anyway). I’m not going to say what because of spoilers. I was really not impressed with the ending. I don’t get it. Why would the author decide to write an easy way out? It was unrealistic and I think it cheapens the story. Overall, I am DISAPPOINTED.

 

2

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Well I’m glad you liked the artistic and diversity side of this. I really enjoyed this and rated this 4 stars. BUT YES, I KNOW. The fact that Ollie changed Maddie’s entire outlook on life was what made roll my eyes. I didn’t really mind the instalove in this since their initial correspondence was just though a window and the internet, so that makes building a relationship pretty hard… but I wish it was instalike or attraction instead… And the photos. So bookstagram worthy; I’m still so happy you have one now. I love your cute blouse! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! But it is quite typical in YA , as soon as a boy turns up, everything changes. I mean it was very cute but it felt rushed. They had a insta-attraction. I guess so, maybe there isn’t a lot of space to fit a well developed romance into a 300 page book. I think authors try to imitate a teenage romance, that’s why there’s so much instalove in books. I will be analysing instalove in a post. Aw thanks Summer! I enjoy bookstagram, its fun! I like getting to post things quicker. It’s my favourite shirt 😀 I thought it fitted well with the book cover 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

