Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

24378015Edition: Kindle
Published by: Hoover Ink, 7th January 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, New Adult, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 4 stars
Completed: 10th January 2016

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.


Damn that cliffhanger.

I wanted to put my hands on either side of face and say no! Like the emoji.

This is my first Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher read and wow, I was not expecting to enjoy this as much as I did! I am really gobsmacked. I think I may be off to a good reading start this year. More thrillers, less contemporary.

I have nothing but good things to say about this book.

This is about our two main characters Charlie and Silas who have been friends ever since they’ve were young and are supposed to be in love. The story is written in alternating POVs. Both characters have lost their memory whilst they are in school and thus have no idea who they are, where they are, how they got there, where they live, who their family and friends are. In a nutshell, they are trying to find out who they are and why this is happening to them. Along with us, the reader, we are also trying to find out the mystery with them.

What I found so bizarre about Charlie and Silas’ memory loss is that they have knowledge of celebrities, days of the week, know how to drive and get to school, ironically. So strange on what their memory loss allows them to remember and what to forget.

From beginning to end, this is such a page-turner. I couldn’t put it down. I just wanted to know more and more. The mystery aspect really intrigued and captivated me. There are just so many questions that need answering! The pacing was really good for a 151-page book, as it was never slow.

I really liked Silas. He has a very sarcastic and funny personality. He was my favourite part of the book, even though he is basically your typical New Adult attractive male character. Being in a situation where you have no idea who you are can be an extremely overwhelming and vulnerable experience. I think Silas took it well; he tries to go along with it. Charlie, on the other hand takes it a bit harder. She’s a cold person, mostly because she is vulnerable. Together they try to piece the puzzle together and learn surprising things about themselves such as the kind of person they are, as well as what went wrong in their relationship and their families.

I’m not going to say too much because of spoilers, as you should get into reading this not knowing much.

I’ve heard a lot about this ending, so I’ve had it coming but man, that cliffhanger was a plot twist! As soon as I read that last chapter, I just knew which direction it was going. I thought you can’t just end it there and leave me hanging, but then again it was a good cliffhanger for the story and I did like how it ended. My only negativity is that this book ended too quick. I thought is this it?!

I tend to stay away from New Adult and Colleen Hoover altogether because I just have a feeling I won’t like it. I don’t think I will pick up Hopeless or Ugly Love but maybe November 9 it sounds interesting somewhat. I’ve never heard of Tarryn Fisher before but since looking it up, she is also a well-known New Adult romance writer. Never Never, I believe is more on the Young Adult genre, mostly because our main characters are in High School. It had the perfect blend of mystery, suspense with a smidge of romance to make it an unputdownable book. I loved it so much and it is getting me quite pumped to read the next book! I think it would make such a great standalone book with part 1-3 combined together.

Here are some of my favourite quotes:

“We’re branded. You and me. We are so in love, Charlie. You feeling it yet? Do I make your heart go pitter patter?”

“My drawers are neat. I must have OCD. I toss around the socks and underwear to see if I can piss myself off.”

“Before, when I looked at her, she was just the girl who as experiencing this weird phenomenon with me. Now when I look at her, she’s the girl I’ve apparently made love to for a while. The girl I apparently still love. I just wish I could remember what it’s supposed to feel like.”

4

8 thoughts on “Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

    1. Aw I hope you enjoy reading it second time round! I think its a pretty quick read. I guess the writing isn’t that special but the mystery aspect intrigued me because I hadn’t read a mystery book in a long time! Thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ah, I was looking forward to reading your review of this on here! As you know, I haven’t read any Colleen Hoover but this one sounds intriguing. I haven’t heard of this one that much though. But for you to give it 4 stars? It must be good! I’m glad it was a nice, fast read for you, Thuong! I really want to meet this Silas guy now. 😉 And the unique concept of selective memory loss sounds interesting. I’ll be adding this to my TBR. I’m going to read Ugly Love first though since I have that one on my physical shelf. :3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Summer! 😀 I wasn’t expecting to like it, so it was a good surprise! I haven’t read much of her books either because its a hit or miss but I read on reviews on Never Never and it sounded interesting, so when I found out it was going for a free promotion on kindle, I jumped into the chance XD A lot of people seemed to like November 9, so maybe that’s another Hoover book worth checking out 😉 Ah, Silas is like the anatomy of a book boyfriend lol. I hope you enjoy this one and Ugly Love!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I got this for free on Kindle a few months ago though a Daily Deal, yet I haven’t read it yet. I really want to start it soon! I’ve been a little worried that the cliff hanger would be too much for me to handle, but now that all the books are out, I should read it soon! I’m so glad you enjoyed it – hopefully I will too!

    I’ve read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover, and I’d really recommend it! It’s not a super steamy romance like NA tends to be, and I liked the music themes!

    Lovely review, Thuong! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this one 🙂
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was also free promotion on Kindle, so I jumped into the chance to read it 😀 yeah now is a good time to read all of it! I haven’t read part 3 because I’m a bit worried about all the negative reviews :/ but I will read it anyway. Hope you enjoy the series! Look forward to your review on it.
      Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll give Maybe Someday a go. Haha yeah sometimes NA has way too much steamy scenes! I just hope none of the characters frustrate me lol. Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

