Review: Matilda by Roald Dahl

109059Edition: E-book, 240 pages
Published by: Puffin Books, 16th August 2007
Genre: Childrens, Classics, Fantasy, Fiction, Humour
Rating: 4 stars
Completed: 21st December 2015

“The Trunchbull” is no match for Matilda!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she’s just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a kid-hating terror of a headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It’ll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!


Clearly I was deprived of any good children’s classic literature as a child, as I questioned as to why have I not read any Roald Dahl books?!

I watched Matilda a countless loads of when I was younger before I knew it was originally a book. The story was so unique, charming and a little sad in some parts but overall it was a nice message about it that everyone could relate to. I’m being bias by saying Matilda is Dahl’s best book!

“It’s a funny thing about mothers and fathers. Even when their own child is the most disgusting little blister you could ever imagine, they still think that he or she is wonderful.”

It’s about a young girl called Matilda Wormwood who is a child genius. She knows how to read at the tender age of two and can take care of herself at four years old. Her parents are so dim-witted that they don’t notice her intelligence; instead they are verbally abusive and neglect her. “A BOOK?! WHAT D’YOU WANNA FLAMING BOOK FOR?…WE’VE GOT A LOVELY TELLY WITH A 12-INCH SCREEN AND NOW YA WANNA BOOK!” Matilda wasn’t asking for much, she just wanted a book to read. When her parents couldn’t even grant her this one thing, she took matter into her own hands – going to the library to read books devouring one after another and also punishing her parents when they deserved it.

tumblr_inline_mgj8m1aMaq1r19c0t

“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”

tumblr_m05vck7ocF1qa9jwno1_500

Miss Honey was the only person that really noticed Matilda’s astounding intelligence, especially her ability to work out large sums in her head. Miss Honey was such a kind-hearted teacher and one who has a dark past, but she doesn’t let that get in the way of her teaching. Her story was more darker and in-depth in the book, than in the film.

Miss Trunchbull is absolutely INSANE. How is she even a headmistress and why did she even want to be a teacher? That baffles me. She should not be allowed to teach, let alone be anyway near children. How she treated Miss Honey was just awful. Dahl does make the villains real nasty characters.

Reading this was so nostalgic. It was like watching the film. I really enjoyed it and don’t know why I didn’t read it sooner. I’m not much of a classics reader but do plan on reading more children’s classics this year. I think children’s classic just has a more charming and light-hearted ambiance to it. I got the feeling of a lot of the British vibe in the book, as it actually set in England but the film is set in America. What was different from the book was that Matilda’s powers disappeared after she finished her work in helping Miss Honey getting her house and money back. I think the ending was perfect, just like in the film! Matilda and Miss Honey both wanted a loving family and that’s what they got in the end 🙂

Overall, really lovely and well written. It is definitely a must-read.

4

5 thoughts on “Review: Matilda by Roald Dahl

  1. Matilda is seriously such a feel good read – she’s basically somewhat a female Harry Potter, with her talents being utterly ignored by blood relatives but being recognised at school. This is one of the first book I ever read in English and it has always stayed with me.

    Although I really want to know how people can even be like Matilda’s parents? Most parents I know would be over the freaking moon if their kid was so smart haha — most of the kids I see these days struggle to even read the alphabet at 5 or 6… it makes me so sad.

    I have to admit I remember the movies a lot more than I do the book, though – so I think I have a reread lined up in the near future as well. Thanks for this trip down memory’s lane!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agreed on the HP and Matilda comparison! 😀 that’s cool you read it in school.
      I know! Parents would be bragging about their childrens’ talents like there’s no tomorrow lol. Well Matilda’s parents are the worst kind. I think Dahl written them that way deliberately. Could dyslexia be the reason why some children struggle to read the alphabet?
      I never knew it was even a book when I watched the movie lol. Your welcome! glad to hear you plan to give it a reread 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like such a sweet read! The only Roald Dahl book I’ve read is James and the Giant Peach which I enjoyed. That one had a lot of funny silliness (I mean a giant peach?). I read it in fourth grade with my class actually. But I’ve heard so much about this one because it’s probably Dahl’s most famous. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I liked that you included some gifs. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Erm, I didn’t know James and the Giant Peach was a book written by Dahl LOL. I’m so bad with classics. Haha yes it does sound a little funny and silly! I remember vaguely watching the film but I don’t remember it. You haven’t seen Matilda?! You should definitely watch it, its really fun and a great film 🙂 Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t, but I’ll make sure to remedy that during my summer vacation, which is only a few months away! 😛 And yes, James and the Giant Peach is totally Dahl. I always tell people I’ve never read Dahl until I remember of James, hehe. >.<

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

