Wreck This Journal Entries #1

I brought Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith over 2 years ago (I think). I only brought it because I burned out from my nightmarish fashion degree and I really wanted something to get me back into drawing.ย To begin withย I did really enjoy starting Wreck This Journal but I only managed a couple of pages before I lost motivation to do more pages because I got busy with other things. I guess I prefer to do a serious drawing rather than doing Wreck This Journal pages. I’m hoping by posting 5 entries per post, it will motivate me to finish more pages and to finally complete it!

arrow2

DSC03747

STAND HERE

I did stand on this page (in my slippers) but then thought ohhย I’d like to draw it! So I drew brogues by Clarks and a Mulberry Alexa bag ๐Ÿ˜€

DSC03749

POUR, SPILL, DRIP, SPIT, FLING YOUR COFFEE HERE

I’m not really a coffee drinker, so I spilt English tea on it. Illustrated a tea of cup and some of my favourite books.

DSC03750

DRAW FAT LINES AND THIN

One of my favourite pages to draw ๐Ÿ™‚ these patterns are called Zentangles and they are so relaxing and therapeutic and looks effective! Highly recommend drawing zentangles if you’ve got time to spare ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC03751

HANDPRINTS

I’ve got a confession to make: I redid this page. I know I know, it defeats the whole purpose of Wreck This Journal! But it just went a bit wrong. I am a perfectionist, so I couldn’t help myself O_O I originally painted a tree with finger prints.

DSC03752

THROW SOMETHING

When I saw the target, it just reminded me so much of Katniss from the Hunger Games! So I decided to illustrateย Katniss with her bow and arrow shooting her target ๐Ÿ™‚

arrow

I do recommendย Wreck This Journal, even though it does take time (like reading). It is a really fun and original creative idea that lots of people have been inspired by. I think it brings out the creativity in everyone! When I saw it at Urban Outfitters, I thought it was a bit naff but that was until I actually saw all the amazing creationsย online. And most importantly, if your a perfectionist, then this book was designed for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Alfie Deyes akaย Pointless Blog on YouTube published a book called the Pointless Book which is very similar toย Wreck This Journal, so I’m not sure where he was inspired thatย or its just one BIG coincidence.

Have you broughtย Wreck This Journal? And did you enjoy it?

9 thoughts on “Wreck This Journal Entries #1

  1. THUONG YOU ARE SO TALENTED. I LOVE your illustrations to death. I especially love your drawing of the shoes? (I actually have shoes that look like that!!)
    I actually hadn’t heard of Wreck This Journal until I found you post and googled it. This sounds like something I’d love to do though, especially since I want to draw stuff but lack the motivation to keep up with it. Maybe the prompts will help?

    Thank you for sharing your entries though; they are so lovely to look at. Will you be posting more? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much Chooi, I appreciate it :)! That’s really cool you have shoes like these! I love brogues ๐Ÿ˜€
      Yeah definitely give Wreck This Journal a go, I think you’ll really like it! There’s lots of creative activities that could possibly help you get into the mood to draw more often ๐Ÿ™‚ some of the pages are a bit silly but I like that its suppose to be fun. Yeah I think the prompts will help – gives you an idea on what to do on each page.
      Aw your welcome, glad you like them ^_^ Yes will be posting some more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. I’ve so been waiting for this ever since I knew you had a Wreck My Journal and this post did not disappoint me at all! I love this so much! I don’t have a WMJ and I don’t really do much art anymore, but this is so inspiring. And I really love Handprints. โค

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks so much, Summer! Yes I remember you said I should do a post on it, which I thought was a good idea! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hoping posting these entries will motivate me in finishing it! The original page of handprints went wrong at first lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your art and take on the different “prompts” are absolutely beautiful! I love the whole idea of letting go of perfection and just being creative. Creative outlets are so important for us, especially when you are in a situation like the one you were in. Sometimes, having the opportunity to be creative without restriction can end up better than when we are told what to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much! ^_^ Absolutely agree. We are so obsessed with having doing things in a perfect way and being afraid to work out of your comfort zone. I remember my art teacher was always saying not everything needs to be neat. Yes, mistakes can be a happy mistake ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

