The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

No one tagged me, I just really wanted to do this tag because it seems like fun. We always hear about people’s positive thoughts of books but its interesting to also hear about other people’s unpopular opinions as well.

arrow2

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

11870085

I am going to get my head bitten off and possibly run over by a car for saying this! Everyone and their mother loves this book so much, so I expected nothing but fantastic things about it. I thought ‘right, this is it. This is the John Green book I will love!‘ But by the time I read it however, I was so underwhelmed. I’m a not cold person; I do cry in books and films (sometimes) but I just could not get into it. John Green books are just not for me. I know, I know, could could I NOT like The Fault In Our Stars?! Believe me, no one is more disappointed than I am.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

all-the-bright-places-jkt

I was expecting to find All The Bright Places a bit ‘meh’ but I didn’t. I just felt like I really understood Finch and the book really struck a core with me. It made me cry so much! I know a lot of people don’t like this book because they say its romanticising mental illness and I understand why a lot of people have issues with it, as I had issues with it as well, in terms of the parents being crap, but overall I loved the story. I feel like I need to reread this to get a second opinion, as I did rate it 5 stars! I don’t rate books 5 stars at all unless I really loved it.

Untitled

I read the Mortal Instruments in 2010 and I was not expecting to love this series at all. I made a impulsive purchase and brought 3 books at the same time! After I received them I thought ‘uh oh, what if I don’t like them?!’ Best decision I ever made. For me, the story ended on City of Glass, because that was a solid trilogy. But I get it, Cassie Clare wanted to please the fans and expand on the Shadowhunter world. This series is extremely overhyped and I understand why some people probably don’t like TMI. My favourite types of characters are funny and sarcastic ones and the way Clare wrote them was so spot on! One of the many reasons why I loved this series. I have been watching the TV show which is so different from the actual books! It’s like two completely different stories.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

OTP I didn’t like – Kiera and Kellan from a New Adult series called Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens. I actually rated these books very highly (4 stars for the first 2 books) because I think I enjoyed the drama but I’ve had time to reflect on it and didn’t find them that great. Found it quite mediocre. The first book is about a love triangle where the main character Kiera can’t decide between her long-term boyfriend Denny or rockstar Kellan. It just kept switching back and forth. Kiera is just really shallow. Just when you think Bella can’t stop going on about how attractive Edward is, Kiera is the worst! Its like every chapter she talks about how ‘perfect’ or a ‘rock god’ Kellan is (oh please). It was bloody annoying. I wanted her to end up with no one. But after reading the third book a while ago, I realised Kiera is a Mary Sue and Kellan is a Gary Stu and that they deserved each other. The ending was about the author, which is very Mary-Sue and I didn’t like that. Oh well.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

These days I rarely reach for YA paranormal, sci-fi, new adult, epic fantasy, historic fiction and dystopians. I would say horror as well but I am venturing into that genre since reading the Shining!

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I’m going to have to go with Snape from the HP series. Snape is grown adult and the way he treated Harry was wrong. Harry didn’t do anything to Snape! Snape had it in for Harry from the start and held a grudge against Harry because of what Harry’s dad did. Yes, Harry’s dad was a bully. Snape’s past was very sad and he redeemed himself in the end, but his behaviour towards Harry was unacceptable. He’s a teacher, he’s meant to be a professional, not a bully. Grow up!

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I’m probably going to get attacked by a nerdfighter lol but I mention the author’s book in the first question and that is John Green. I don’t know what it is but I just can’t seem to get into his books. I’ve only read Looking For Alaska and TFIOS. I think its the writing style and the characters – they all sound the same, as if I’m reading about John Green. Granted, John Green writes sarcastic characters and I love reading about sarcastic characters but his characters really aren’t that funny in my opinion. I thought about reading Paper Towns but I don’t think I could put myself through another Green book unfortunately. Sorry, not sorry.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Instalove! It is contagious. Every YA book I come across, it’s there and I can’t escape. I mean is it really that hard to write a developed romance? I’m not asking for much.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Here are a few:

The Lunar Chronicles

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

The Percy Jackson series

The 5th Wave

The Lux series

The Selection series

Luminae

I could go on forever…

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I was not a huge fan of the Hunger Games but I like did the films of The Hunger Games and Catching Fire – that was a really fantastic interpretation of the book. The Book Thief was not rated well by the film critics of Rotten Tomatoes but I really liked it. Another one is Game of Thrones. It’s just mind-blowingly amazing and if your not watching it, then your missing out on good TV stuff! Since I enjoyed season 6 so much, I will attempt to read A Song of Ice and Fire! Which are a beast of a series because of their length but I can’t wait 🙂

arrow

So those are my unpopular opinions 🙂 I hope I haven’t offended anyone. Feel free to disagree with me. What are some of your unpopular opinions on books?

12 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. TFIOS was a book I initially enjoyed but as the years have gone by my minds changed a bit more and I don’t actually love it, same with Looking for Alaska.
    Love triangles are the bane of my existence. I cannot tolerate them at all these days so I’ll be giving the Thoughtless series a pass.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked TFIOS, but I can see where you’re coming from. It’s really overhyped. And I have to say that I didn’t like All The Bright Places at all, lol sorry! 😉 But I 100% agree with the instalove point. I just read The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, and that was the fastest and most dramatic instalove I’ve read in a long time. Not really a fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Extremely overhyped! That’s why I had high expectations for it. That’s okay, I can see why not a lot of people like all the bright places but it was a surprise I liked it! Really? I’m staying well away from that book then. Not that I was planning to read it as I didn’t like Everything, Everything. Instalove is just so repetitive in YA.

      Like

      1. Lol I didn’t like Everything, Everything either! Everyone told me “The Sun is Also a Star is so different, it was amazing!!” but ehh… it wasn’t for me 😉 And so true. If I’m going to pick up a YA realistic fic, I want it to actually be realistic haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson is a really good one if you haven’t read it already. Not much of a romance in it tbh but it focuses more on the friendship side which felt very genuine 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually have never read a John Green book. But I do own four of his pieces (TFiOS is one of them) and I’m not sure if I’m interested in reading them anymore. >.<

    Omg, I love that you mentioned that City of Glass had a solid ending. I read TMI back in 2009 and it was when that series was just a trilogy, too. Book three was actually my favorite. Though I enjoyed the next ones after, it didn't feel quite the same.

    Interesting that you mentioned you don't gravitate towards YA paranormal. I think fantasy and paranormal are my go-to genres since HP and Twilight (I know…) are series that got me into reading more seriously.

    Anyway, I'll end this Summer bomb here, lol. Hope you've been well, Thuong!

    Like

Leave a Reply

