Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

it-ends-with-us-coverEdition: Paperback, 376 pages
Published by: Simon & Shuster UK, 2nd August 2016
Genre: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Rating: 4 stars
Completed: 7th September 2016

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Untitled 4

WHOA, I was not expecting that. Once again, my emotions! 
Before I get into this review, I must tell you my naked truth: I loved this book.

Its best to go into reading this blind and don’t read the reviews because the plotline is a major spoiler, which I noticed many reviewers have revealed in their reviews, despite it being spoiler free. I had only read the summary and it didn’t tell me what subject the story was based on. I just got the impression that it’s another steamy NA romance with drama thrown here and there. Clearly, I was wrong. That’s the good thing about going into a highly rated book with super low expectations. You’re not disappointed in the end. This book is just buzzing with 4 and 5 star reviews. Colleen Hoover books are known to be either a hit or a miss. This one is a hit.

1 Continue reading “Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover”

Advertisements

Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

24378015Edition: Kindle
Published by: Hoover Ink, 7th January 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, New Adult, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 4 stars
Completed: 10th January 2016

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.


Damn that cliffhanger.

I wanted to put my hands on either side of face and say no! Like the emoji.

This is my first Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher read and wow, I was not expecting to enjoy this as much as I did! I am really gobsmacked. I think I may be off to a good reading start this year. More thrillers, less contemporary.

I have nothing but good things to say about this book.

This is about our two main characters Charlie and Silas who have been friends ever since they’ve were young and are supposed to be in love. The story is written in alternating POVs. Both characters have lost their memory whilst they are in school and thus have no idea who they are, where they are, how they got there, where they live, who their family and friends are. In a nutshell, they are trying to find out who they are and why this is happening to them. Along with us, the reader, we are also trying to find out the mystery with them. Continue reading “Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher”

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824Edition: E-Book, 432 pages
Published by: Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Genre: Fantasy, Fairies, Fairy Tales, Fiction, New Adult, Re-tellings, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 3 feathers

Summary courtesy of Goodreads:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


A Court of Thorns and Roses is a book that I am constantly seeing highly praised. I wasn’t so sure if it appealed to me but the positive reviews enticed me to find out what the fuss (hype) was about. The thing is I really liked it and then I didn’t, if that makes any sense? Ugh, I don’t know. On with the review: Continue reading “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas”