Book Review: Grimm Tales: For Young and Old by Philip Pullman

41rp8tlB11L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_Edition: Paperback, 444 pages
Published By: Penguin Classics
Genre: Adult, Fairytales, Retellings, Horror
Rating: 3 stars
Completed: 27th February 2017

In this beautiful book of classic fairy tales, award-winning author Philip Pullman has chosen his fifty favourite stories from the Brothers Grimm and presents them in a’clear as water’ retelling, in his unique and brilliant voice.

From the quests and romance of classics such as ‘Rapunzel’, ‘Snow White’ and ‘Cinderella’ to the danger and wit of such lesser-known tales as ‘The Three Snake Leaves’, ‘Hans-my-Hedgehog’ and ‘Godfather Death’, Pullman brings the heart of each timeless tale to the fore, following with a brief but fascinating commentary on the story’s background and history. In his introduction, he discusses how these stories have lasted so long, and become part of our collective storytelling imagination.

These new versions show the adventures at their most lucid and engaging yet. Pullman’s Grimm Tales of wicked wives, brave children and villainous kings will have you reading, reading aloud and rereading them for many years to come.

arrow2

When I think about it, I didn’t actually read that many fairy tales because I watched a lot of the Disney classic films but the first one I watched was Snow White. It’s not my favourite now as I love Beauty & The Beast but Snow White was definitely my favourite as a young girl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Continue reading “Book Review: Grimm Tales: For Young and Old by Philip Pullman”

Advertisements

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824Edition: E-Book, 432 pages
Published by: Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Genre: Fantasy, Fairies, Fairy Tales, Fiction, New Adult, Re-tellings, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 3 feathers

Summary courtesy of Goodreads:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


A Court of Thorns and Roses is a book that I am constantly seeing highly praised. I wasn’t so sure if it appealed to me but the positive reviews enticed me to find out what the fuss (hype) was about. The thing is I really liked it and then I didn’t, if that makes any sense? Ugh, I don’t know. On with the review: Continue reading “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas”